iconspedia.com...?
Started by AngelSandy, Dec 26 2011 07:54 AM
9 replies to this topic
#1
Posted 26 December 2011 - 07:54 AM
I had a weird small pause since Google Chrome warned me that WoW-V had content from iconspedia.com and that it could infect my PC with malware.
I then tried to type iconspedia.com directly, and sure enough I got the exact same message from google that proceeding to this site could potentially cause my computer to become infected with malware.
Last time I checked WoW-V didn't have any malware, but why would this be caused then?
I then tried to type iconspedia.com directly, and sure enough I got the exact same message from google that proceeding to this site could potentially cause my computer to become infected with malware.
Last time I checked WoW-V didn't have any malware, but why would this be caused then?
#3
Posted 26 December 2011 - 08:12 AM
It's weird though, because I didn't click any adverts.
I read a thread in the application forum for GMs looking for work ( Evis I think he is called?) and then I pressed on the WoW-V link to get back to the main board. Then I got the message that proceeding to this website could infect my pc with malware.
I read a thread in the application forum for GMs looking for work ( Evis I think he is called?) and then I pressed on the WoW-V link to get back to the main board. Then I got the message that proceeding to this website could infect my pc with malware.
#4
Posted 26 December 2011 - 11:11 AM
Quote
It's weird though, because I didn't click any adverts.
I read a thread in the application forum for GMs looking for work ( Evis I think he is called?) and then I pressed on the WoW-V link to get back to the main board. Then I got the message that proceeding to this website could infect my pc with malware.
I read a thread in the application forum for GMs looking for work ( Evis I think he is called?) and then I pressed on the WoW-V link to get back to the main board. Then I got the message that proceeding to this website could infect my pc with malware.
I just got that when I clicked on this thread. Weird.
#5
Posted 26 December 2011 - 12:07 PM
It's an ad most likely, they don't need to be clicked to download things sometimes.
Yay
#6
Posted 26 December 2011 - 01:41 PM
most likely adverters, i mean since when has wow-v ever been insecure (not jinxing or anything)
i miss the old "your computer is infected" scam ads
i miss the old "your computer is infected" scam ads
#7
Posted 26 December 2011 - 10:47 PM
Quote
It's an ad most likely, they don't need to be clicked to download things sometimes.
^
You can get a virus from just having flash load on your page.
Fuck the world and all of it's inhabitants.
#8
Posted 29 December 2011 - 09:06 PM
Bit late in responding, but I have no idea what that site is and we certainly don't have any content from them.
As stated it may have been a Google Adsense advertisement (which is the only flash-allowed advertising on the site), but that would be a Google problem, not a WoW-V one (since we don't control what ads are here).
If it comes up again try to pay attention to what adsense ads are showing and report them to Google.
Also, if you're ever worried that content from a page on the site is malicious, run it through virustotal.com's site scanning tool. That should check everything that could potentially be executing malicious code through MANY different virus scanners. If you get any positives, report it to me immediately with the virustotal.com link and hash info.
As stated it may have been a Google Adsense advertisement (which is the only flash-allowed advertising on the site), but that would be a Google problem, not a WoW-V one (since we don't control what ads are here).
If it comes up again try to pay attention to what adsense ads are showing and report them to Google.
Also, if you're ever worried that content from a page on the site is malicious, run it through virustotal.com's site scanning tool. That should check everything that could potentially be executing malicious code through MANY different virus scanners. If you get any positives, report it to me immediately with the virustotal.com link and hash info.
#9
Posted 29 December 2011 - 09:41 PM
Quote
Bit late in responding, but I have no idea what that site is and we certainly don't have any content from them.
As stated it may have been a Google Adsense advertisement (which is the only flash-allowed advertising on the site), but that would be a Google problem, not a WoW-V one (since we don't control what ads are here).
If it comes up again try to pay attention to what adsense ads are showing and report them to Google.
Also, if you're ever worried that content from a page on the site is malicious, run it through virustotal.com's site scanning tool. That should check everything that could potentially be executing malicious code through MANY different virus scanners. If you get any positives, report it to me immediately with the virustotal.com link and hash info.
As stated it may have been a Google Adsense advertisement (which is the only flash-allowed advertising on the site), but that would be a Google problem, not a WoW-V one (since we don't control what ads are here).
If it comes up again try to pay attention to what adsense ads are showing and report them to Google.
Also, if you're ever worried that content from a page on the site is malicious, run it through virustotal.com's site scanning tool. That should check everything that could potentially be executing malicious code through MANY different virus scanners. If you get any positives, report it to me immediately with the virustotal.com link and hash info.
It's weird, though. I mean, Google putting an ad that is then blocked by Google Chrome? Kind of stupid.
And it is very difficult for us to see the same, since Google ads depend on your searches.
#10
Posted 29 December 2011 - 11:02 PM
Google can only do some much in terms of preventative measures. Malicious ads still get through from time to time, and are removed when discovered.
1 user(s) are reading this topic
0 members, 1 guests, 0 anonymous users















